Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sat., Sep. 5
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

St. Lawrence Thunder Bantams, PeeWees chase state tournament honors on the road this weekend


MASSENA - The St. Lawrence Thunder Bantam and PeeWee teams will be on the road this weekend looking to net New York State Amateur Hockey Association Tier II championships.

Both squads are sanctioned by Massena Minor Hockey. The Bantams are headed to Clinton to compete at the 14U tournament while the PeeWees are off to Oswego for the 12U championships.


The St. Lawrence Thunder Bantam hockey team capped off a busy President’s week by winning 10 out of 11 games. The team started the week by claiming top honors in the New Hampshire Junior Monarch AAA Challenge on President’s Day.

The team then traveled to Clifton Park to participate in the NYSAHA Tier II Bantam A Northern Sectionals. The Thunder swept all five games against Canton, Watertown, Glens Falls, Saratoga and then Schenectady in the championship game.

Coached by Robert Smith, Jr., Todd Manning and John Hart, the Thunder Bantams open the state tournament on Friday at 10 a.m. against Camillus. They return to the ice for a 4 p.m. encounter later the same day against Clinton then close out the first round on Saturday with games agaubst Long Island (8 a.m.) and Tonawanda (2 p.m.). The semi-finals are slated for Sunday at 11 a.m. and 1 p.m. and the championship game at 7 p.m.

Thunder team members include; Logan Brothers, Bailey Hewlett, Chad Varney, Jordan Robert, Bailey Conklin, Wyatt Wilmshurst, Ben Sprague, Logan Ford, Hayden Hart, Brandin Cousineau, J.D. Greenway, Shane Cryderman, Tyler Fobare, Maddox Merry, Kaden Pickering, Patrick Manning, Jon Paul Chauvin, Austin Cousineau and Nathan Burnett. Brock Cousineau serves as team mascot.

The other division in Clinton this weekend consists of Skaneateles, Schenectady, Buffalo and the second seed out of the East Zone.


Coached by Jeff Allen and Marc Derouchie, the Thunder PeeWees enter the state tournament as the top seed out of the Northern Zone. They face Syracuse on Friday at 10:50 a.m. in their opening game and will play again in the afternoon against Oswego starting at 4:40 p.m. Their two Saturday games are against Long Island (8:50 a.m.) and Cheektowaga (2:50 p.m.). The semi-finals are slated for Sunday at 11 a.m and 1 p.m. and the championship game at 7 p.m.

Thunder PeeWee team members include; Nathan Moffitt, Kyler Head, Billy Bergan, Tanner Tarbell, Dylan Wylie, Josh Sanchez, Jay Chubb, Nathan Bressard, Josh Underwood, Mathew Derouchie, Jake Mattice, Corson Green, Cole Allen, Kyran Sunday and Merrick Taraska.

Also competing for 12U honors in Oswego in the other dvision this weekend are Westchester, Elmira, Saratoga and Niagara.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter