Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Wed., Oct. 7
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

Local openings in upcoming school board elections


With three expiring terms and another one-year seat to fill, the Morristown Central School Board of Education could look very different following state-wide board elections on May 15.

Three-year terms belonging to board President Scot A. Rupert and Trustee James H. Bogardus will be coming to an end, according to district Clerk Maureen A. Bouchey, as will another full term, currently belonging to Gary R. Baldwin. A fourth seat, open and recently vacated by Kimberly A. Marshall, has one year remaining and will also be filled, Ms. Bouchey said.

Expiring board terms officially end on June 30, 2012, with new terms beginning July 1 and stretching until June 30 of the year the new term will end, depending on its length. Many school districts abide by a five-year term policy, while other district’s employ three-year terms.

The Ogdensburg City School District is facing change as well.

Two board of education members - Thomas P. Luckie Jr. and Vicky M. Peo - will see their five-year terms expire, according to district Clerk Alane L. Farrell, who said Mrs. Peo and David A. Lesperance have already picked up petitions.

Two five-year terms are also available in Madrid-Waddington (Brian K. Hammond and Douglas C. McKnight), Heuvelton (board President Andrew L. Martin and Dennis G. Durant), and Hammond (Dr. James R. Tague and Ronald E. Tulley III).

Lisbon Central School has only one expiring board of education seat, that of board President Marc A. Montroy, also a five-year term.

Other than budget approval and board of education openings, no further propositions will occur at any of the above-mentioned school districts except for Madrid-Waddington, where voting will also decide upon the purchase of two buses and one passenger van, with the total cost not to exceed $275,000.

Anyone interested in serving on their district’s school board can currently pick up a petition, typically between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m., in the district office.

Nominees must be qualified voters of the district, a local resident for at least one year, and must have their petition signed by at least 25 qualified district voters (100 in the city school district).

Petitions must be returned by the end of the business day on April 16, except for in Ogdensburg, where petitions are due by April 25.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter