Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sun., Oct. 4
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

St. Lawrence County consolidates polling places for presidential primary


CANTON - The St. Lawrence County Board of Elections has consolidated polling places to one per town for the Presidential Primary April 24 to cut down on costs, a particular concern this year because there will be three primaries and one general election.

The Board of Elections did the same thing last year for the Sept. 13 primary when the Conservative Party nomination for Family Court judge was the only countywide race.

“It’s to save money when there’s not as many voters,” said Democratic Election Commissioner Jennie H. Bacon.

The county does not have to hire as many election inspectors if it can consolidate poll sites, and it does not have to move as many machines, she said.

Voters in the April 24 Presidential Primary will cast ballots in their own districts, but the county’s usual 61 polling sites will be cut to 33.

Rick Santorum dropped out of the race for the Republican nomination for president Tuesday, but his name will remain on the ballot along with those of Ron Paul, Mitt Romney and Newt Gingrich.

Election officials had hoped to avoid three primaries and a general election this year, but those efforts never got far.

To comply with a federal law on military ballots, the state moved its non-presidential primary for federal races to June 26. The local primary for such races as state Senate and Assembly nominations is tentatively scheduled for Sept. 11, but that could change, county Republican Commissioner Thomas A. Nichols said.

The general election will take place Nov. 6.

Mrs. Bacon was not sure how much of an expense the April 24 primary would be, but last September’s primary, with one countywide race, cost $42,425.

All voters affected by the change for the Presidential Primary have been notified by mail of their temporary polling place.

Polls will be open from noon to 9 p.m.

Voting sites are: Brasher Municipal Building, Canton fire department, Clare Town Hall, the Clifton town office in Newton Falls, Colton Town Hall, DeKalb Town Hall, the Masonic Temple in DePeyster, Edwards Town Hall, Fine Municipal Building, Fowler Town Hall, Gouverneur Fairgrounds, Hammond Community Center, Hermon fire department, Hopkinton Town Hall, Lawrenceville fire department, Lisbon Hepburn Library, Louisville Municipal Building, Macomb Town Hall, Madrid Hepburn Library, Massena Community Center, Morristown Fire Hall, Norfolk Rescue Squad building, Heuvelton fire department for the town of Oswegatchie, Parishville Town Hall, Piercefield Town Hall, Pierrepont Town Hall, Pitcairn Town Hall, Snell Hall for the town of Potsdam, Rossie town barn, Russell Town Hall, Brasher-Winthrop fire department for the town of Stockholm, Waddington Municipal Building and Ogdensburg Visitor Center.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter