Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Wed., Oct. 7
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

School district budgets pass in Jefferson and Lewis counties


Jefferson and Lewis County residents approved all 2012-13 school district budgets on Tuesday.

Jefferson County

n Alexandria: Voters passed an $11.2 million budget 272-103.

In the election for two seats on the Board of Education with three-year terms, voters selected Andrea Adsit with 280 votes and incumbent Stephen Dreizler with 272 votes.

n Belleville Henderson: Voters approved the $8,872,858 budget 414-111.

John W. Allen defeated Kevin P. O'Rourke for the lone seat on the district's Board of Education, winning by a 359-162 vote

n Carthage: Voters approved the $52.97 million budget 401-394. Also approved was a proposition to buy up to 13 buses, 443-347, and allocation of up to $70,000 to the Carthage Free Library and $49,000 to the Sally Ploof Hunter Memorial Library.

Newcomer Kent D. Burto won the remainder of position three's term with 316 votes, defeating incumbent Brian K. Serota, 286 votes and Michael Hancock, 150 votes.

n General Brown: Voters approved a $20.8 million budget, 447-191, the purchase of up to three school buses, 453-148, and the Dexter library funds , 361-220.

Board of Education incumbent Jeffrey West won another term by 456 votes. Daniel J. Dupee II, with 465 votes, and Cindy L. Humerickhouse, 359 votes, were both voted in as new board members.

n Indian River: Voters approved a $75.5 million budget, 158-41. Also approved was a capital reserve, 163-43 and a library tax increase, 162-39.

Incumbent Board of Education members Alnora Durgin, 161 votes, and Donald Brumfield, 151 votes, both ran unopposed.

n LaFargeville: Voters passed the $10.2 million budget, 120-12.

In the election for one seat on the Board of Education with a five-year term, Mary Ford-Waterman won unopposed with 127 votes. Voters also approved a propositions for a bus purchase for up to $120,000, 112-21, and to reinstate its capital reserve fund with a transfer of $11,497, 123-10.

n Lyme: Voters passed the $7.4 million budget, 249-90.

In the election for one seat on the Board of Education with a three-year term, Terry Countryman won unopposed with 269 votes. There were 11 write-in candidates who received votes.

Voters also approved a bus purchase for $100,400, 248-90, and Lyme Free Library's operational budget of $34,800, 246-87

n Sackets Harbor: Voters approved a $7.9 million budget, 151-49. Also approved was a proposition to buy one bus, 150-49.

Board of Education incumbent Stephen L. Swain was re-elected with 165 votes.

n South Jefferson: Voters approved the $28.6 million budget, 333-80. A proposition to allow for the purchase of two large-capacity school buses for $208,000 passed by a 318-97 vote.

Kenneth M. Bibbins, 360 votes, Brenda Shelmidine, 358 votes, and James S. Juczak, 336 votes, each won seats for the district's Board of Education.

n Watertown: Voters passed a $64.59 million budget, 323-96.

Board of Education incumbent Deltra B. Willis won another term with 350 votes.

n Thousand Islands: Voters approved a $19.6 million budget, 495-196. Also approved was a public library proposition to increase the current funding level by $10,000 to $97,500. Cape Vincent Community Library's funding will be increased $5,000, to $37,500; Hawn Memorial Library of Clayton's funding will be increased $5,000 to $37,500; and Depauville Public Library's funding will stay the same at $22,500.

Voters approved three candidates to fill three-year terms on the Board of Education. In the election for the seat of Dennis Faulnham, Erik V. Swenson defeated Michael J. Geiss, 320-222. Bruce Mason received 178 votes. Incumbent candidate Jolene Radley defeated Timothy “Tucker” Wiley, 379-308, to hold his seat, and incumbent candidate Brian Lantier, who was unopposed, held his seat with 540 votes.

Lewis County

n Beaver River — Voters approved a $16.4 million budget by a 253-98 vote and the purchase of two school buses through bonding at an estimated annual cost of $23,000 apiece by 249-92.

Five-year Board of Education incumbent John Lehman earned a new term by defeating Jacquelyn Prashaw, 219-121.

n Copenhagen — District residents approved a $10.17 million budget 122-30.

They also authorized busing of children to Lowville Head Start on existing routes by a 134-16 vote and the purchase of two 66-seat buses for up to $207,500 by 121-28.

Incumbent school board member Alfred E. Tomaselli earned a new term with 130 votes.

n Harrisville — A $9.26 million budget was approved by a 158-66 vote.

Voters also approved the purchase of a bus for up to $95,857.03 by a 151-72 vote and increased funding for the Harrisville Public Library from $30,000 to $35,000 by 92-49

Incumbent Joseph C. “Chuck” Langs earned a new school board term by defeating Ann Hall, 134-85.

n Lowville — Voters approved a $25.82 million budget 460-82.

They also authorized, by 449-95, purchase of three buses for up to $375,000; transportation of students to Lowville Head Start on regularly scheduled bus routes by 450-86; an increase of funding for the Lowville Free Library from $50,000 to $60,000 by 445-98 and establishment of a capital reserve fund of up to $1.5 million over the next 10 years by 455-85.

Tenth-year board member William J. Burke and third-year board member Dr. Steven Lyndaker, both running unopposed, earned new three-year terms with 446 and 473 votes, respectively.

Jeffery W. Hellinger won a four-way race for a third open seat with 262 votes. He was followed by Michael Judd with 130 votes, the Rev. William Malone with 119 and Heath L. Ash with 51.

n South Lewis — Residents approved a $25.18 million budget by a 297-165 vote and the purchase of three 66-passenger buses for up to $306,786 by 289-157.

Andrew P. Liendecker and incumbent Mary E. Martin earned five-year board seats with 364 and 311 votes, respectively. Julia C. Ielfield received 175 votes.

Times Staff Writer Gordon Block also contributed to this report.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter