Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Fri., Sep. 4
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

Matteson thunders to Evans Mills win


EVANS MILLS — Billy Matteson grabbed the lead with two laps to go to win the thunder car feature Saturday night at the Evans Mills Speedway. Dan Way finished second and John Sargent took third.

Dalton Lampson led from start to finish in the junior division feature. Connor Walsh and Brooklyn Wilson finished in the top three. Brittany Schroy dominated the women’s truck race with Mackenzie Hilts finishing second and Jean Nichols took third.

Scott Shafer pulled away from Homer Dobransky in the sports compact feature. Billy Matteson finished third. Chris Zieren won his second straight legends feature. Chad Windsor finished second and Dave Riopelle was third.

The open class had only three cars in the feature with Mark Webb dominating the race and Verne Harris finishing second. Zac Strough won the 15-lap truck race with Robert Schroy second and Brian Burnash was third. On the final lap, Trevor Halladay, Jeremy Scott and Matt Larrivee’s cars came together and Jenn Burnash was also involved in the accident. Keith Doxtater was in command early en route to the win in the super stock feature. It was his second straight victory. Chris Typhair finished second and Rick Ziegler took third.


Brandon Hagan came away with $1,000 en route to the SUNY Canton, Dig Safely New York, Clarence Henry Coach sportsman 25-lap feature on Saturday night at Can-Am Motorsports Park. Michael Prentice finished second and Taylor Caprara was third. Kenny Hamm survived a late race restart for his second straight 20-lap pro street victory. Mike White and Sid Harmer Jr. finished in the top three.

Sean Beardsley led the field across the finish line in the 20-lap late model feature. Billy Eisele finished second and Alan Fink took third. JR Durham beat Ray Bechler and Robert Martin to the checkered flag in the 15-lap thunder car feature.

Tiger Chapman won the 20-lap mod lites feature with Joel Hargrave finishing second and Matt Rainville was third. Steve Gilmore won the 12-lap pure stock race.


Veteran driver Otto Sitterly won the Jim Shampine Memorial feature Saturday night at the Oswego Speedway. Kyle Ebersole captured the Richie Evans Memorial feature in the Race of Champions event. Cameron Rowe won the Tony White Memorial race.


Bill Dunn of Watertown finished second behind Matt Sheppard in the 35-lap modified feature on Saturday night at the Canandaigua Speedway. Rob Bellinger of Dexter was ninth.

Watertown native Tim McCreadie finished seventh in a World of Outlaws late model series race Sunday night at I-77 Raceway Park in Ripley, W. Va. Tim Fuller of Watertown was 24th.

On Saturday night, McCreadie finished fifth in a series race at Tyler County Speedway at Middlebourne, W. Va. Fuller was 24th.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter