Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Tue., Oct. 6
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

Liberty, Notre Dame Win OBGC Titles


The Liberty used two solid team efforts to gain the championship of the Ogdensburg Boys and Girls Basketball League in triple header action at Thomas P. Luckie Sr. Court. Before claiming the championship over the Sparks 58-29, the Liberty took a hard-fought semi-final win over the Storm 50-45.

The Sparks advanced to the finals by downing the Mystics 53-30.

In postgame awards the Liberty, Sparks and Storm, who all finished the regular season 4-2, and were honored as co-champions. The Liberty were feted as the playoff champs with Maddie St. Pierre and Courtney Sherwin being honored as the league’s Sportsmanship Award winners, Sara Vivlamore was cited as the Most Valuable Defensive Player and Riley Luckie was recognized as the Most Valuable Offensive Players.

Liberty (58) Sparks (29): A 16-7 first quarter spurt carried the Liberty to the championship as Riley Luckie and Tory Daley led the way with 17 and 16 points. Shannon Tooley added 13 with Erin Tooley and Madlyn Caufield adding 6 each. The Sparks were led by Courtney Sherwin with 9 points and 7 from Bridget Rust.

Liberty (50) Storm (45)- Tory Daley scored 12 of her 17 points in the first quarter to give the Liberty the lead and Riley Luckie scored 8 of her 17 points in the fourth quarter as the Liberty held off the Storm. The Storm was led by Maddie St. Pierre with 16 points, Alex Steele with 13 and Meg Dodge with 12.

Sparks (53) Mystics (30)- Kristen Snyder led the Sparks to the win with a 14-point effort with Sara Vivlamore netting 11 and Ally Moore 10. Riley Luckie led the Mystics in a subbing effort with 15 points with Hannah DeGraw adding 6.Playofff Boxscores

Liberty (58)- Caufield 3-0-6, Daley 7-2-16, Tooley, E. 3-0-6, Tooley, S. 5-3-13, Luckie 5-1-4-17 Totals 23-1-9-58

Sparks (29)- Moore 1-0-2, Johnson, A. 1-0-2, Johnson, G. 2-0-4, Rust 3-1-7, Sherwin 3-1-0-9, Vivlamore 0-1-1-4 Totals 10-2-3-29


Liberty (50)- Marcellus 2-0-4, Caufield 1-0-2, Daley 8-1-17, Tooley, E. 2-0-4, Tooley, S. 3-0-6, Luckie 6-5-17, Totals 22-6-50

Storm (45)- Steele 6-1-13, Crowley,B. 1-0-2, St. Pierre, O. 1-0-2, St. Pierre, M. 7-2-16, Dodge 2-2-2-12, Totals 17-2-5-45


Sparks (53)- Loffler 2-0-4, Moore 5-0-10, Johnson, G. 4-0-8, Snyder 7-0-14, Sherwin 3-0-6, Vivlamore 4-1-0-11 Totals 25-1-0-53

Mystics (30)- Degraw 3-0-6, Rust 1-0-2, Marcellus 1-1-3, Luckie 6-1-0-15, Johnson 1-0-2, LaFlair, Sa 1-0-2 Totals 13-1-1-30


Notre Dame claimed the OBGC Jr. Big East Basketball League Playoff Championship by defeating Syracuse 37-32 in the Championship game Thursday evening. Nate McCarney led the winners with 15 points,Cale Sargent added nine points and Joey Dalton chipped in eight points for Notre Dame.

Syracuse was led by Trent Saumier with a game high 16 points. Connor Badlam added 12 points while Bret Gleason and Dominic Molinari added a field goal each for the Cuse’.

Notre Dame reached the title game by defeating UConn 39-29. Syracuse made the Championship game by defeating Georgetown 41-22 in semi-final action. After the game, OBGC Directors Doug Farley and Tom Luckie Jr. handed out plaques to Syracuse as the playoff finalists, and trophies to Notre Dame as the Regular Season and Playoff Champions. Special awards were given to Connor Badlam as the League’s Offensive MVP, Trent Saumier as the League’s Defensive MVP, and Trenton Sullivan and Will Kroeger as the League’s Sportsmanship Awards winners.


Syracuse 32- Molinari 1-0-0-2, Badlam 3-1-3-12, Saumier 7-0-2-16, Gleason 1-0-0-2 Totals 12-1-5-32

Notre Dame 37- Sargent 2-1-2-9, Kroeger 1-0-0-2, McCarney 3-1-6-15, T. Sullivan 1-0-0-2, Lamay 0-0-1-1, Dalton 4-0-0-8 Totals 11-2-9-37


Semi Final Action

Notre Dame 39- Grey 3-0-1-7, Kroeger 2-0-0-4, McCarney 2-1-0-7, J. Sullivan 1-0-0-2, Dalton 5-1-4-17, Lesperance 1-0-0-2, Totals- 14-2-5-39

UConn 29- Mecci Johnson 2-2-1-11, Farrar 2-0-0-4, Marcus Johnson 3-0-0-6, Weaver 1-2-0-8 Totals- 8-4-1-29


Syracuse 41- Meachem 1-0-0-2, Gleason 1-0-0-2, Molinari 1-1-0-5, Badlam 4-1-0-11, Saumier 6-0-1-13, Ramm 4-0-0-8 Totals- 17-2-1-41

Georgetown 22- Love 0-1-2-5, Johnson 4-0-0-8, Luckie 1-2-0-8, Lamay 0-0-1-1 Totals 5-3-3-22


The Thunder and Mavericks recorded wins in opening round playoff action in the Senior League.

The victories set up next week semi-finals on Wednesday as the Mavs will take on the top seed Lakers at 6:30 and the Thunder will take on the Celtics at 7:30 with the winners advancing to the championship game at 8:30 p.m..

Mavs (82) Heat (45)- The Mavs exploded to a 23-4 first quarter lead and were never threatened as Garret Kinnon led the way with 25 points with Matt Piercey adding 22. Kyle Bouchard and Seth Pinkerton netted 11 each. The Heat was led by Tyler Knowlton with 15 and Ryan Adams 14.

Thunder (65) Knicks (57)- The Thunder moved on as Josh Liebstein scored 16 of his team high 21 points in the second half. Matt Kendall followed with 15, Ryan Volmer 10 and Justin Ross dropped in 9. The Knicks received a 22 point effort from Matt Tomford and 12 each from Peyton Lalone and Kinnon LaRose.

Senior League Boxscores

Mavs (82)- Pinkerton 4-1-0-11, Love 2-0-4, Bouchard 1-3-0-11, Kinnon 7-3-2-25, Tully 1-0-2, Piercey 7-2-2-22, Rogers 3-1-0-9 Totals 23-10-4-82

Heat (45)- Knowlton 1-3-4-15, Farrell 1-2-0-8, Adams 7-0-14, Bresett 2-1-5, Molinar, D. 1-0-2, Volmer 0-1-1, Totals- 12-5-6-45


Thunder(65)- Ross 3-1-0-9, Volmer 2-1-3-10, Kendall 5-5-15, Gleason 2-0-4, Manke 3-0-6. Liebstein 9-1-0-21 Totals 24-3-8-65

Knicks (57)- Lalone 4-1-1-12, Tomford, D. 1-1-0-5, Tomford, M. 7-8-22, LaRose, K. 4-1-1-12, McRoberts 2-0-4 Badlam 1-0-2, Totals 19-3-10-57

June 6 Schedule - 6:30- Mavs vs. Lakers, 7:30- Thunder vs. Celtics, 8:30- Championship and Awards


Maryland and Duke of the ACC joined Ohio State and Purdue of the Big 10 to form the OBGC Elementary version of the Final 4 Maryland defeated Virginia 21-20 and Duke defeated North Carolina 35-34.

Ohio St defeated Indiana 26-18 and Purdue held off Michigan 22-18. Crossover action on Wednesday 6/6/12 will see Duke play Ohio St. at 3:25 p.m. while Maryland will battle Purdue at 4:15 p.m. with the winners advancing to the Championship Game on Thursday 6/7/12 at 4:15 p.m. while the losers will meet in the Consolation at 3:25 p.m. prior to the title tilt.

Ohio St. 26 Indiana 18- Ohio St. received excellent play from Noah Steele, Nate McNally, Sierra Laflair, and Karson LaRose. Indiana was led by Kelsey Sherwin, Claire Rishe, Jordan Fennessy, and Zack Kimble.

Purdue 22 Michigan 18- Purdue advanced to the next round with great play from Cooper Hunter, Austin Patterson, Sidney Hosmer, and Nolan Rapin. Michigan was led by Molly Williams, Mitchell Brenno, Celia Henry, and Connor Chevrier.

Maryland 22 Virginia 21- Maryland held off Virginia with excellent play from Mesean Johnson, David Vernsey, Trent Sargent, and Shelby Ross. Virginia was led by Amanda Self, Jackson Jones, Jake Sharpe, and Natalie McCormick.

Duke 35 North Carolina 34-Duke received great play from Hayden Ives, Harry Powers, Josh Clothier, and Brittany Rheome. The TarHeels were led by Connor Griffith, Andy Downs, Drew Harmer and Emily Sovie.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter