Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sat., Sep. 5
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

Alliance awards 10 medical scholarships


The Alliance With the Medical Society of Jefferson County recently presented scholarships of $1,000 to 10 students who plan to pursue careers in health fields. The meeting was held in Fellowship Hall of the First Presbyterian Church.

Master of ceremonies was WWNY-TV 7 morning news anchor Jeff Cole.

The 10 recipients:

n Melisssa A. Abbate, Adams Center, who graduated from South Jefferson Central School in 2011. She is attending Jefferson Community College and planning to transfer to Upstate Medical University for a degree in medical technology.

n Lindsey L. Barber, a second-year recipient from Chaumont, received the North Country Orthopedic Group Scholarship in memory of Dr. James B. Fish. She is studying physical therapy at Le Moyne College, Syracuse, where she is on the dean’s list.

n Carly R. Fairbanks, Cape Vincent, received a new scholarship made possible by Mrs. Warren Daub and their children in memory of the late Dr. Warren Daub. Carly is enrolled in the molecular bioscience and biotechnology program at the Rochester Institute of Technology, where she is on the dean’s list. She has been accepted into the medical technology program at the Rochester General Hospital for certification in clinical laboratory science.

n Savannah E. Fuller, Philadelphia, a second-year recipient, is attending Keuka College iin its occupational therapy program. She is receiving the AMSJC scholarship in memory of the late Dr. John Meyerdierks.

n Heidi S. Hess, Cape Vincent, a third-year recipient, is studying pharmacy at St. John Fisher in Rochester, where she is consistently on the dean’s list. She received the 18th annual Northern Radiology Scholarship.

n Christopher D. Leen, Belleville, also a third-year recipient, is a student nurse at SUNY Plattsburgh. He received the Van Slyke Scholarship.

n Jenna K. McDonald, Clayton, a second-year recipient, is a student nurse at SUNY Brockport. She received the Jefferson Physicians’ Organization Scholarship in memory of Dr. Lewis Yecies.

n Abigail L. Monroe, Watertown, will be graduating from General Brown High School this year and will be attending Utica College for physical therapy.

n Joseph A. Parisian, Watertown, a second-year recipient of the Minaert Scholarship, is in a year of internships at various pharmacies as he finishes the doctor of pharmacy program at the Albany School of Pharmacy.

n Alexandra J. Weston, Chaumont, is a first-year doctor of pharmacy student at the Albany School of Pharmacy, where she is on the dean’s list. She received the annual Samaritan Medical Staff Scholarship in honor of recently retired Dr. Jan Turcotte.

The selection committee chose these 10 from 34 applicants. The committee members from the alliance are: Patty Minaert, president; Jean Gianfagna, Lynn Pyke, Ann Van Slyke, Jeannie Weber and Hildegard Willis. The physician representative and president of the medical society is Dr. Howard Huang. Community representatives were Sylvia Buduson and Jeff Cole.

The alliance has been awarding scholarships for 59 years to Jefferson County students pursuing careers in health-related fields. It began for nursing scholarships but has evolved over the years to include physical, occupational and speech therapy, pharmacy, medical technology, physician assistant, radiology technician and medical students.

The main goal is to secure the future of healthcare in the north country. Since 1959, the alliance has awarded $332,231 which includes these 10 awards of $1,000 each.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter