Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Fri., Oct. 9
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York

BOCES seat filled in 11-7 vote


CANTON - A Parishville resident has been elected to serve on the nine-member St. Lawrence-LeWis Board of Cooperative Educational Services Board.

James E. Young, 1782 state Route 72, received 11 votes compared to 7 cast for Victor N. Rycroft, Morley.

Mr. Young has served on the Parishville-Hopkinton Central School Board since 1980. Mr. Rycroft is a member of the Canton Central Board of Education.

The votes were taken this week by the 18 school boards in the BOCES region to fill the unexpired term of Steven H. Wilson, Parishville, who died May 19.

Mr. Young received votes from St. Lawrence-Central, Colton-Pierrepont, Gouverneur, Hammond, Harrisville, Hermon-Dekalb, Heuvelton, Lisbon, Norwood-Norfolk, Parishville-Hopkinton and Potsdam.

He will begin serving on the nine-member board after he is sworn in Thursday evening. The term expires June 30,2015.

Mr. Rycroft received votes from Canton, Clifton-Fine, Edwards-Knox, Madrid-Waddington, Massena, Morristown and Ogdensburg.

Mr. Young, a former industrial arts teacher, taught at Lowville Academy, Brockport Central and Canton Central before retiring in 2002. He now volunteers to assist with industrial arts classes at Parishville-Hopkinton and owns and operates a construction business.

He has served as past president of the St. Lawrence County School Boards Association and as president of the Town of Parishville variance board.

Mr. Young received his bachelor of science degree in industrial arts from SUNY Oswego and did graduate studies at SUNY Potsdam.

BOCES board members are nominated by the school districts they live in. Eac member serves “at large” meaning they represent all 18 component school districts. BOCES board members do not have to sit on a component school board to serve on the BOCES board.

The other board members include President Roger M. Bennett, Massena; Nancy J. Cappellino, Gouverneur; Patricia K. Gengo, Brasher Falls; Marjorie McCullough, Hammond; Andrea J. Webb, Edwards; Shelli R. Prespare-Weston, Colton; Dana M. Smith, Waddington and John “Jack” Zeh, Heuvelton.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter