Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Tue., Sep. 1
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

CJ’s meets Ogdensburg Pepsi-The Place in North Country Men’s Summer Soccer Championship tonight


POTSDAM - CJ’s of Potsdam will be looking to reclaim the North Country Men’s Summer Soccer League Playoff title tonight at 5:30 p.m. at SUNY Potsdam’s Turf Field when they host defending champions Ogdensburg Pepsi-The Place.

CJ’s (13-2-1) advanced to the finals with a 4-0 decision on Wednesday against Chips Place. Ogdensburg Pepsi-The Place I (12-3-2) defeated CKON-Fort Brickhouse 2-1 in the semi-finals after prevail in dramatic fashion in the quarterfinals where it tied Frary’s Funeral Home of Ogdensburg 2-2 and won in penalty kicks 4-3 for the right to advance.

Potsdam area teams have won the title 12 times since 1977. Ogdensburg Pepsi-The Place has claimed 11 titles and is looking to match the all-time high.

Ogdensburg Pepsi-The Place is led by a quartet of consistent scorers in Kyle Manke, Division I Offensive MVP Grant Prudhomme, Mike O’Neil, and Matt Gladle. Leading scorer Erik Whitcombe is out for the year with an injury. Aaron Charlton, TJ Hannan and Brian Sias have worked hard with goalie Bill Gemmill to allow just 23 goals during regular season and playoff play.

CJ’s is led by protype scorers in Franco Bari (15 goals, five assists regular season and three goals, one assist in playoffs) and Marki Misiak nine goals, 10 assists regular season, four goals and three assists in playoffs). Willie Steinrotter who didn’t play in semi-final action has scored eight goals and six assists during the regular season.

CJ’s have allowed just 20 goals all season and scored 57. Starting keeper Luke Seymour has allowed just one goal in 270 minutes of play.

At halftime, CJ’s and Hoot Owl/North Country Savings Bank will be honored with awards for the Regular Season Championships. Grant Prudhomme of Ogd. Pepsi-The Place and Ben Hammond of the Hoot Owl/NCSB will be honored as the Division I and Division II Offensive MVP’s. Joe Knox of CJ’s and Nate Beaulieu of Frary’s will be honored as the Division I and Division II Defensive MVP’s.

Team sportsmanship awards will also be given to Division I’s Murray’s-The Place II and Division II’s Massena’s Vino-Vidi-Vici of Divisio.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter