Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Mon., Oct. 5
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

Green among track champions crowned at MIR


AKWESASNE - More than 90 cars entered the pit area for the final night of points in all divisions for 2012.

With only two points separating the top two drivers in the 358 Modified points and a dead heat for the Frenchie’s Chevy Runs Deep 358 Modified Series, it was nothing less than exciting.

In the Bandit division Billy Laplant and Danny Lefebvre led the field to the green with Lefebvre getting the advantage. Stuart Mossow was moving through the field early onand grabbed the lead on lap 4 but headed down the back stretch he and Darryl Mitchell made contact and came to a stop in the infield. The restart left Mathieu Aubin the newly crowned track champion for 2012 at the head of the class. Aubin was the class of the field on the night and would pull away to a full straightaway win with Darryl Mitchell, Frederic Faubert, Peter Cename and Jordan Miller rounding out the top five.

In the Pro Stock division Preston Mossow and Allen Peters led the field to the green flag with Peters getting the advantage into turn #1. Allen Peters has had some rough luck in the last few weeks and was looking to put that behind him as he opened up five car lengths with Stephane Lebrun, Roch Aubin, Dave Rogers and Marc Lalonde giving chase. On lap 6 Roch Aubin who was running in second, spun his machine in turn 2. When the green flag came back out peters continued to lead but the battle was from second on back. Lebrun, Rogers, Marc Lalonde and Jody Swamp were having a spirited battle in the top five. Lebrun would Secure the second spot and run down the race leader just past the halfway point. With Peters and Lebrun after each other the battle was on for third as Jody Swamp made his way into the top three with just five to go. But up front Stephane Lebrun tried everything in the books to get by Peters for the lead but it didn’t work as Allen Peters grabbed his first win of the year with Lebrun, Swamp, Aubin and Rogers completing the top five. PJ Peters did not start the race but had a big enough point lead to secure the 2012 track title.

The Mod Lites were set for battle as Tim Reif and Harley Brown were ready to do go as Brown grabbed the early race lead heading into turn 1. It didn’t take long for Mathieu Robinson to jump into the top spot, Robinson moved by Brown to take over the lead at the end of the first lap and was looking to run away and hide. Points leader Bryan Green was having a rough night. After a wreck in his heat race he was forced to start last in the feature go. Green worked his way into the top five quickly by lap 5 and was setting sail after Robinson. On lap 9 the first of 2 yellow flags flew first for Bailey McDonald who spun in turn 2. On the next restart Matt Chontosh experienced the same fate. On the final restart Green made his move to take away the lead from Robinson with four laps to go. From there Green pulled away to score his fourth in a row and seventh win of 2012 and also secured the 2012 Mod Lite track championship.

The final round of the Frenchie’s Ford “Drive One” Sportsman Series was set to go as Brent Kelsey and Gilles Godard led the field of 27 cars to the green flag with Kelsey grabbing the top spot. Kelsey has gone winless in his career and was trying to change that as he pulled away by a half straightaway by lap 5 with Godard, Dylan Evoy, Mike Arquiett and Brandon Hagan rounding out the top five. Dylan Evoy had already wrapped up the 2012 Sportsman title but was looking to win back to back Frenchie’s Ford Series titles and made his way to the lead by lap 9 with Godard, Kelsey, Hagan and Arquiett giving chase. Jenna David came to a stop on the front straight with a broken front end. The next lap Thunder Anderson Jr. made heavy contact with the backstretch wall, he would be okay. On lap 15 Josh Brockway also had problems as he slowed in turn 3. This string of cautions allowed Gilles Godard to cool his tires down and make a run for the lead and he did just that as he took over the top spot using the extreme outside lane on lap 18. Godard was on a rail after that, Building up a full straightaway lead over Hagan, Evoy, Josh VanBrocklin and Arquiett. Ricky Thompson brought out the final caution as he spun in turn 2. On the last restart Godard jumped into the lead and would pull away to another full straighaway lead and motor on to his first every Frenchie’s Ford Drive One Sportsman Series win over Hagan, VanBrocklin, Evoy and Mike Arquiett. Evoy’s fourth place finish was enough to secure his second straight Frenchie’s Ford “Drive One” Sportsman Series crown.

The 358 Modifieds had a lot on the line on Frenchie’s night. Billy Dunn and Chris Raabe came in to the night separated by just two points in the chase for the track championship. In the same breath, Dunn and Matt Billings were tied for the point lead in the Frenchie’s “Chevy Runs Deep” 358 Modified Series. This race turned out to be one of the best all season as Chris Raabe and Luke Whitteker led the field of 29 cars to Austin Swamp’s green flag with Raabe grabbing the lead in turn 1. Behind him Billy Dunn, Carey Terrance, Luke Whitteker and Dale Planck were having their own battle from second on back. With Rabbe in front lapped traffic was the issue and this allowed Dunn and Terrance to close the gap on Raabe as they battled for the lead. Dunn would make the move for the lead in turn 2 on lap 20 and start to pull away. The first caution came out for Mario Clair who came to a stop on lap 24. On the next restart Dunn grabbed the lead but Raabe was able to stay with him in turn 1. With Raabe and Dunn Battling for the lead Carey Terrance with just being patient and he used that to his advantage as he slip by both Dunn and Raabe to take over the lead on the frontstretch on lap 26 with Matt Billings and Dale Planck rounding out the top five. From there on it was a classic battle between a former champion and a guy looking for his first as Terrance held a 3 car length lead over Dunn in the closing stages. With five to go Dunn made his move on Terrance in turn 4, the two drivers battled wheel to wheel until the final lap when Terrance used lapped traffic to gain the advantage and roll on to his 2nd win in a row over Dunn who secured his first ever MIR 358 Modified title and first ever Frenchie’s Chevy Run’s Deep 358 Modified Series crown. Planck Billings and Raabe rounded out the top five.

Points are in the record books now for 2012 and next on the list is the season finale as two big nights of racing are set to go on Friday September 14 and Saturday September 15. With all 4 DIRTCar Series in town, Go Nuclear Late Model Series, Mod Lites,and Bandits on the card through the weekend, it’s sure to be an exciting way to close out 2012.

For more information, visit the track website

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter