Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sat., Sep. 5
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

Incumbents returned to office in St. Lawrence County


Incumbents were swept back into office Tuesday in local contested races in St. Lawrence County.

Unofficial results were:


In the race for two seats on the village Board of Trustees, Republican incumbent Mary Ann Ashley was the top vote-getter with 830 votes. She was followed closely for the second seat by political newcomer Daniel J. McDonnell, with 805 votes. Republican Michael E. Dalton, who also was seeking election for the first time, came in third with 770 votes.

Ms. Ashley said she was gratified by the preliminary result.

“Obviously I am flattered that voters have put their confidence in me for a second term,” she said. “I have worked hard for the first two years. I’m not done learning.”

There were two contested races in the town of Canton.

Jesse C. Coburn, a Democrat who left the village board when he moved outside of the village, was elected to the Town Council with 1,571 votes. He was challenged by Republican Daniel E. Martin, a former member of the village board, who received 1,298 votes.

Cathleen E. O’Horo, a Republican incumbent, won another term as town justice, with 1,594 votes. Democrat Greg Storie received 1,265 votes.


In the race for three two-year seats on the village board, Republican incumbents Charles W. Newvine and R. Nelson Lawrence were returned to office. Mr. Newvine received 677 votes and Mr. Lawrence 636 votes. Political newcomer Lawrence E. Woodrow, who ran as an independent, received 165 votes.

Mr. Lawrence said he was pleased with the results.

“I just want to thank my supporters and people who didn’t vote for me as well,” he said. “I’m just going to try to represent them all.”

Mayor Ronald P. McDougall, who was unopposed, had the most votes of any candidate, receiving 765 votes.

Shelly Simons-Washburn, who was running unopposed for the remaining year on an unexpired village board term, received 649 votes.


In the race for the vacant town justice position, unofficial results put John F. Ceresoli on top, with 174 votes. Joan K. Mason received 104 votes.


Anya A. Tendler was the apparent winner of the town justice seat, with 199 votes. There were 172 write-in votes. It was not known whether all of the write-ins were for a single person.


Town Justice Michael Lecuyer had 947 votes in his unopposed bid for re-election. There were two write in votes.


Incumbent Frank H. Dunning, 498 votes, defeated Dennis Lowe, 130, in a race for town justice.


Dahl McCormick, 668, and Roger Murray, 666, were unopposed for their bids for re-election as town councilmen.


Joseph Griffo was unopposed in his bid for re-election. He received 8,994 votes in St. Lawrence County, and there were 47 write in votes.


Incumbent Assemblywoman Addie J. Russell received 15,723 votes in her bid for re-election. There were 61 write in votes.


Kenneth Blankenbush was the choice of 3,319 voters in St. Lawrence County. He was unopposed. There were 10 write in candidates.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter