Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sun., Aug. 30
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

Clarkson professor earns AAUW Research Award


HANNAWA FALLS - The St. Lawrence County Branch awarded its prestigious seventh annual AAUW Research Award to Dr. Sandra Fisher of Clarkson University, Potsdam, at the branch’s Equal Pay Day mixer at The Canoe Place, Hannawa Falls.

In making the presentation to Dr. Fisher, AAUW-SLC Branch president Jennifer Ball said, “We like our research award recipients to exemplify the university woman in both her professional attainments and her service to others. We have that in Dr. Fisher. She holds an undergraduate degree from Valparaiso University and a Masters and a Ph.D. from Michigan State University.”

She has been at Clarkson University’s School of Business since 2008, where she serves as an associate professor of Organizational Studies. In addition to her academic work, she has over fifteen years of consulting experience.

Dr. Fisher has directed multiple projects for large federal organizations, including the development of performance appraisal systems, evaluation of computer-based training programs and other organizational initiatives, and development of selection tools such as skill/ability tests and structured interviews.

Ball continued, “Sandy Fisher has served a longtime partner with AAUW initiatives. She is the lead consultant on the focus groups study of Value U, a former AAUW Community Action Grant project. She has been a recipient of several grant awards and is a current recipient of the Walker Research Award from SUNY Potsdam, which will allow her to further her Value U. work.”

“The AAUW Research Award is given to local researchers whose work highlights important issues involving gender and developing issues involving social justice, work/life balance and education,” said Ball. “Dr. Fisher’s work speaks directly to developing issues around contingent workers, workers’ rights, entrepeneurial motivation, e-Human Resource Management, and increasing utilization of e-platform learning and training.”

The Research Award comes with a one-year membership in AAUW. Fisher joins a distinguished cadre of previous winners, including fellow Clarkson University faculty member Laura E. Ettinger, St. Lawrence University’s Caroline Breashears, and SUNY Potsdam’s Maria Hepel, Shiho Imai, and Susanne Zwingel.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter