Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sun., Oct. 4
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York

Potsdam, Canton, Colton-Pierrepont, M-W eye contested school board races


POTSDAM - While two out of the three incumbents in Potsdam did not return petitions seeking re-election to the Potsdam Central School Board of Education, voters will still have a contested race with four candidates seeking three open seats.

Neither Mark R. Frascatore or Thomas W. Hobbs, who will both complete their first term on the board in June, opted to run for re-election. The lone incumbent to run again was Ralph L. Fuller, who will be completing his fifth-term on the board at that time.

Mr. Fuller will be joined on the ballot by former board of education member Ann M. Carvill, who will be looking to rejoin the board for the third time, as well as challengers Judith Hinman and Rachel Wallace.

Ms. Carvill served on the board from 2005-2011 and 1991-1997. Each of the terms available this year are full, three-year terms.

Voters in Colton-Pierrepont will have two candidates, both with board experience, to choose from.

Incumbent Jo Ann Roberts will be seeking her second term on the board, as will Scott Baxter, whose bid for re-election came up short in a crowded field of candidates last year. That race included five candidates for two seats with Shelli Prespare-Weston and Tracy Hoose coming out on top.

The term available is a full, four-year term.

While the many other races in the area are uncontested, several boards will be seeing new faces elected this year.

In the Massena Central School District, board member Michael J. LeBire opted not to seek another term. He had been elected in 2006 to a two-year term to fill a seat that had been held by Robert Thompson. Mr. LeBire was elected to a five-year term in 2008.

His seat will be taken by newcomer Lorie Mackenzie, who was the only person to return her petition out of three individuals who had picked them up from the district clerk.

The race for school board in Canton will include four candidates seeking three seats, with each of the incumbents seeking re-election.

The incumbents, Janet Favro, Angelique W. Santimaw and Phillip J. Burnett Sr., will be joined on the ballet by Keith R. Rosser.

Each of the terms available are full, three-year terms.

Madrid-Waddington will see one contested race, as well as one uncontested race, as candidates must declare which seat they are running for. Gerald Molnar is seeking re-election and will be running unopposed, while the seat currently held by Jeffrey Dominy will be a contested race between Andrew Bracy and Jacqueline Brown.

Mr. Dominy had served one term on the board.

One seat will still be available in Norwood-Norfolk following the May election. Three seats were available and incumbents Jon D. Hazen and Suzanne Fiacco returned their petitions for another three-year term. Incumbent Stephanie Allen opted not to seek reelection, and no other petitions were received by the district clerk.

Mr. Hazen, Ms. Fiacco and Ms. Allen had finished as the top three vote-getters in May 2010, earning three-year seats on the board.

In Brasher Falls, two seats were available on the St. Lawrence Central School Board of Education, and incumbents James K. Lattimer and Bethany L. St. Hilaire both returned petitions for another five-year term on the board. A third person picked up a petition but did not return it.

Mr. Lattimer first came to the board in April 2006 to fill a seat that had been vacated by Arthur Siebert. That term ended in June 30, 2006, and Mr. Lattimer was elected that year for a five-year term that expired in 2011. He was reelected in 2011 to fill a two-year seat that opened with the resignation of former board member William Sullivan.

Ms. St. Hilaire was elected to a five-year term in 2008.

In Parishville-Hopkinton the voters will be looking at a ballot that includes long-time board of education James E. Young and Daniel Taylor, who was appointed to the board last spring following the death of Steve Wilson, whose term would have expired this year.

Mr. Young has served on the board since 1980, while Mr. Taylor will be looking to earn his first full term on the board.

Both terms are full, five-year terms.

Amanda Purcell and Susan Mende contributed to this report.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter