Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Wed., Sep. 2
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York

St. Lawrence County Branch seeking AAUW Agent of Change nominees


POTSDAM - The St. Lawrence County Branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) is now accepting nominations for its 14th AAUW Agent of Change Award. AAUW biennially honors a St. Lawrence County woman whose work as employer, employee or volunteer is noteworthy in one or all of these three areas: her work has advanced the cause of women’s rights; her work exemplifies the importance of equity for women; her work has brought about significant change in the community.

Any individual or group may submit a letter of nomination for someone who meets the criteria. AAUW Membership VP JoAnn Rogers chairs the 2013 Agent of Change committee. To nominate someone, please send a letter and supporting documentation outlining the nominee’s contributions that meet the criteria to her at PO Box 5750, Clarkson University, Potsdam, NY 13699-5750 before August 23. The award will be presented at the branch’s fall membership meeting.

Past recipients of this award have been Previous Agents of Change have been Georgia Coopersmith (1987) as director of the Gibson Art Gallery at SUNY Potsdam and for reaching out to make the visual arts accessible to a wider public; Sister Kathryn Healey (1989) for her work in starting Hospice in St. Lawrence County; and the late Betty Bradley (1991) for her pioneering work as first woman to be elected to the county legislature.

Also honored were Carol Grzywinski (1993) for her work in establishing the Learning Assistance at SUNY Canton for re-entry and non-traditional students and Lois McAllester (1995) for her work as dietician and administrator with the Office for the Aging in establishing a network of nutrition sites throughout the county.

The late Stacy Hammill was recognized in 1997 for her work as a citizen activist in the areas of voter participation and protecting the environment, and Eva Turknett-Ramsay in 1999 for her work as director of CAVA to serve victims of domestic violence and sexual assault.

Agents of Change in the 21st Century have been Karen Butler Easter (2001) for her work with Reachout, a 24-hour crisis intervention, information and referral service for St. Lawrence County; and Hilary Oak in 2003 for her work for the arts in the county.

In 2005, AAUW honored Bea Woodward for her work with several local volunteer organizations. Allison Koch was recognized in 2007, for opening the doors for women in health care by being the first midwife to start a holistic, female-centered, OB/GYN practice in St. Lawrence County.

Pat Musante, the director of the Potsdam Public Library, was honored in 2009 for her work to expand library services in the area. The 2011 Agent of Change was St. Lawrence University’s Margaret Kent Bass of Canton for her work in equity, education, and social justice.

Membership in the St. Lawrence County Branch is open to anyone who supports the mission of AAUW. AAUW advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, and research.

For more information about AAUW in St. Lawrence County, contact President Jennifer Ball at 268- 4208 or or Public Policy Chair Kathleen Stein at 386-3812,, or visit the branch website,

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter