Northern New York Newspapers
Watertown Daily Times
The Journal
Daily Courier-Observer
NNY Business
NNY Living
Malone Telegram
Sat., Apr. 19
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

MMH Board of Managers gets new members

print this article
e-mail this article

MASSENA - As Massena officials continue to study whether to privatize its municipal hospital, it will now be doing so with at least three new members on its board of managers.

Town Supervisor Joseph D. Gray appointed two new members to the board Thursday night and said a third vacancy will be filled in two weeks when the town board meets for its regular January meeting.

Filling the vacancy left by the resignation of Kirk Wilmhurst was Loretta Perez. Since Mr. Wilmhurst’s term would have expired in Dec. 31, she will receive a full five-year term on the board.

Mr. Gray also replaced one of the two incumbents whose terms were up on the board, appointing SeaComm Chief Executive Officer Scott Wilson to the seat formerly held by hospital board President Andrew Spanburgh.

“Andy asked not to be reappointed,” Mr. Gray said.

The seat held by Darrel Paquin was also up this year, but Mr. Gray said he won’t be making that appointment until the board’s regular meeting on Jan. 15.

Mr. Gray said there were several people who had expressed an interest in serving on the hospital board, including Mr. Paquin himself, but he has yet to make a final decision on who will receive that term.

What he does know though is it will not be Mr. Paquin.

“I had a conversation with Mr. Paquin and he was willing to serve another term, but I chose to make another appointment and thanked him for his service,” Mr. Gray said following the meeting.

During the meeting, he thanked both Mr. Spanburgh and Mr. Paquin for their time on the board.

“I want to thank Darrel Paquin and Andy Spanburgh for their many years of service,” he said. “They have been excellent board members.”

Other appointments made by the supervisor on Thursday include Nancy Fregoe as secretary/bookkeeper and Councilman Albert N. Nicola as deputy supervisor.

James Shaw was reappointed as Massena Electric Utility Board chairman.

Appointments made as liaisons and to the town’s various committees included Mr. Nicola and Samuel D. Carbone to the library, Thomas C. Miller and Mr. Carbone to the museum, Mr. Nicola and Mr. Miller to recreation, Mr. Nicola and Mr. Carbone to MED, John F. Macaulay and Mr. Miller to the rescue squad, Mr. Macaulay and Mr. Gray to the hospital, Mr. Macaulay and Mr. Carbone to the Massena Business Development Corporation, Mr. Gray to the Massena Chamber of Commerce, Mr. Nicola and Mr. Gray to the highway, Mr. Nicola and Mr. Gray to the airport, Mr. Nicola and Mr. Gray to the New York Power Authority, Mr. Gray to the St. Regis Mohawk Tribe, Mr. Nicola and Mr. Gray to the audit committee, the entire board to the budget committee, Mr. Miller and Mr. Gray to the hiring/job description committee and Mr. Macaulay and Mr. Miller to the personnel committee.

Appointments made by the full board included Phil Treers and Robert Elsner to the town planning board and Lynn Smith to the zoning board of appeals. A vacant seat remains on that board, which Mr. Gray said he hopes to fill in two weeks.

Sally Yeddo was appointed to the museum board, which will once again have five members. Mr. Gray said that the term of Sandy Zappia was up this year while David Zappia elected to resign from the board, which for the past couple of year has had six members, despite only technically being a five-member board.

Mr. Gray explained an accidental appointment was made a few years ago, which brought the board up to six people, but rather than unappointing someone the board elected to proceed with six members.

“I spoke with the board, and they don’t need the extra person,” he said.

Mark Englert was reappointed to the library board, Ralph Bathelt was reappointed to the Massena Volunteer Emergency Unit board, Rene Hart was reappointed to the MED board and Ron Bacon was reappointed tot he BDC board. George Trippany was also reappointed to the joint recreation committee.

Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter
Reader Rewards
Reader Rewards