Northern New York Newspapers
Watertown Daily Times
The Journal
Daily Courier-Observer
NNY Business
NNY Living
Malone Telegram
Tue., Jul. 22
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

Clarkson women dominate ECAC Hockey awards night

print this article
e-mail this article

POTSDAM — ECAC Hockey regular-season champion Clarkson took home most of the awards Friday night at the conference’s annual banquet.

The Golden Knights (27-4-5 overall), who are hosting the championship weekend starting today, won or were part of five awards.

Jamie Lee Rattray was named the Player of the Year and Vanessa Gagnon won Best Defensive Forward. Erin Ambrose shared Best Defensive Defenseman with Cornell’s Alyssa Gagliardi. Matt and Shannon Desrosiers were named the Coaches of the Year and Gagnon won the Mandi Schwartz Student-Athlete of the Year Award.

St. Lawrence University won the SQUADLocker Athletic Trophy. Yale’s Phoebe Staenz was the Rookie of the Year and Harvard’s Emerance Maschmeyer was the Goaltender of the Year.

Clarkson’s Rattray and Ambrose made the ECAC Hockey first team, along with Quinnipiac’s Kelly Babstock, Cornell’s Jillian Saulnier and Gagliardi and Harvard’s Maschmeyer.

Clarkson’s Brittany Styner, Carly Mercer and Erica Howe made the second team, as did SLU’s Mel Desrochers. SLU’s Brooke Webster made the All-Rookie Team.

Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter