Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Fri., Sep. 4
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York

Two school districts will need to fill BOE seats after election; contested races in Massena, Potsdam


MASSENA - Two local school districts will need to fill board of education seats after the May 20 election.

Norwood-Norfolk and Madrid-Waddington schools will each have a vacancy after the election because they could not get enough candidates to run for the available board seats by the Monday deadline.

In Norwood-Norfolk, incumbents Karl J. Fetter and Jonathan L. Hunkins, who were elected in May 2011, are running for another three-year term on the board. But there were no candidates for a third seat currently held by David C. Flint, who will be stepping down after serving on the board since 1999.

It’s a repeat of last year when they also fell one candidate short during the elections. Board members opted to appointed Mary Ellen Todd, who had the highest number of write-in votes at 9.

In Madrid-Waddington, incumbent Richard Hobkirk returned a petition by Monday’s deadline, but no other petitions were turned in by the end of the day to fill a second five-year term. Incumbent Mary Loomis opted not to run again, leaving her seat vacant for the May election.

Some districts will have contested races, however.

In Massena, where two seats are available, incumbents Leonard A. Matthews and Kevin F. Perretta are running for reelection. They’re joined on the ballot by newcomers Paul Haggett and Jason Premo. The seats are for five years.

Mr. Matthews will be seeking his third five-year term on the board. He was last elected in 2009. Mr. Perretta was appointed in December 2008 following Andrew Szarka’s resignation from the board to relocate to Texas. He successfully ran for his first five-year term on the board in May 2009.

Four candidates are running for three seats in the Potsdam Central School District. The terms are for three years.

Incumbents Wade A. Davis, Frederick C. Stone Jr. and Christopher C. Cowen, who currently serves as board president, will be on the ballot, along with former board member Ann M. Carvill. Ms. Carvill had also run in 2013 and garnered 362 votes.

Parishville-Hopkinton Central School will also have a contested race, with three petitions being returned for two five-year terms. Incumbent Heidi Simmons will be on the ballot, along with newcomers Corey Sheldon and Joseph McGill.

Three candidates also returned petitions in the Colton-Pierrepont Central School District, where two four-year terms are available. Incumbents Jeffery Angleberger and Kayc Stone will be on the ballot, along with newcomer Cindy McLean.

Two seats are available in the St. Lawrence Central School District, where incumbents Robert Dow and Nereida Diaz-Fuentes will run unopposed.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter