Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Wed., Oct. 7
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

OFA repeats Section 10 Golf title


POTSDAM - The closeness of the Ogdensburg Free Academy Blue Devils was a tangible and intangible strength as they repeated as the Northern Conference Division I Golf Champions.

On Friday, while playing at the stately par 36-36-72 Potsdam Town and Country Club layout, the cohesiveness of coach Joe Lynch’s team was also very much in evidence in a repeat Section 10 Overall Championship.

On a day when the entire field struggled against firm greens and challenging pin placements, the Devils claimed overall honors with a 446-473 margin over Division II champion Tupper Lake which went undefeated in the NAC Division II regular season.

Massena placed third at 477, Madrid-Waddington took fourth at 484 and Malone placed fifth at 486.

The Devils were the only team to have three players shoot in the 80s on the day.

“These guys have been with me a long time and they have worked very hard on their games,” said Lynch.

“We lose 10 seniors and five of them were out on the course today. We’ll be rebuilding some next year but we do have a good group returning.”

Senior Rudy Binion cited the Devils’ body of work.

“We’ve been working toward this since we were freshmen. I’m very happy with the way things turned out,” said Binion.

“I had an OK round today but I could have done better. Tristan Moore picked me up with a big round and we did that all year.”

Conor Hannan led OFA at 41-39-80 to finish second to Brushton-Moira’s Devin Delisle (38-41-79) in the first day individual standings.

Tristan Moore stood third at 45-39-84 for OFA and Binion (38-48-86) placed sixth.

Rounding out the championship effort were: Jed McRoberts 47-49-96 and Matt Piercey 50-50-100. Ryan Petell’s 51-50-101 did not score but was good enough to send all six of the Devil golfers into today’s 32-player medalist round.

Today’s tee-times will begin at 8:45 a.m. and by the end of the day the individual champion and the nine-member team for the New York State Championship Tournament will be decided.

Riley Amell (44-41-85) of Tupper Lake and Jeff Mott of Madrid-Waddington (44-41-85) tied for third and fourth on the day.

“I don’t really plan on doing anything different tomorrow. Hit the driver on some holes and three-wood on others,” said Devin Delisle who won the Section 10 Medalist title two years ago as a freshman.

“Today I struggled with my putting. It seemed that a lot of the pins were on ridges and I missed some short ones.”

Hannan was also very satisfied with his ball-striking, but saw room for scoring improvement.

“I hit the ball solid all day and I made it to play in the last group which I wanted to do. But I know I left a few strokes out there,” said Hannan who’s also a member of OFA’s overall Section 10 Champion Basketball team.

“I got one bad break when a tee-shot hit on the cart path into the woods. But we repeated as team champions. We had a great year and Ryan Petell and Matt Piercey really stepped up in the fifth and sixth positions.”

Rounding out the first day top 10 were: Massena’s defending medalist champion Hunter Francis and teammate Kendrick Swamp at 87 and Malone’s Logan Lamb and Madrid-Waddington’s Kaden Pickering at 89.

NOTES: Norwood-Norfolk freshman Jayden Young pulled away from a field of nine to become the Section 10 Girls Medalist. Young, who has played at the Raymondville Country Club since she was a little girl, shot a 55-53-108 followed by Megan Pickering of Tupper Lake at 65-54-119 and Mary Young of Madrid-Waddington at 60-64-124...Rounding out Tupper Lake’s Division II Championship effort were: Josh Pickering 93, Alex Lewis 98, Tyler Clark 98 and Liam LaMere 99...In the NAC Golf Awards ceremony B-M’s Devin Delisle and Tupper Lake’s Riley Amell were honored as the Division I and Division II MVPs and OFA’s Joe Lynch and Tupper Lake’s Dan Cook were honored as the Division I and Division II Coaches of the Year...Other local golfers advancing to today’s medalist round were: Potsdam’s Adam Clothier (93), Canton’s Danny Christy (95), Salmon River’s Tommy Thomas (95), Norwood-Norfolk’s Brandon Palmer (96), Massena’s Mark Manchester (99), Madrid-Waddington’s Alex Hammond (100), M-W’s Jacob Seguin (101) and Massena’s Jason Hammill.

@zAgateSubhead:High school golf


At Potsdam Town and Country Club

Par 36-36 72

Team scores

1. OFA 446: Conor Hannan 41-39 80, Tristen Moore 45-39 84, Dillon Binion 38-48 86, Jed McRoberts 47-49 96, Matt Piercey 50-50 100, Ryan Petell 51-50 101.

2. Tupper Lake 473: Riley Amell 44-41 85, Josh Pickering 47-46 93, Alex Lewis 51-47 98, Liam LaMere 54-45 99, Ben Geiger 48-58 106.

3. Massena 477: Kendrick Swamp 45-42 87, Hunter Francis 39-48 87, Mark Manchester 49-50 99, Jason Hammill 54-467 101, Brendon Dobbins 59-44 103, Shane Tarbell 52-52 104.

4. Madrid-Waddington 484: Jeff Mott 44-41 85, Kaden Pickering 44-45 89, Alex Hammond 47-53 100, Jacob Seguin 51-50 101, Austin Delosh 53-56 109, TJ Gagnon 59-62 121.

5. Malone 486: Logan Lamb 46-43 89, Davis Sprague 51-44 95, Adam Dumas 48-50 98, Dylan Tavernia 49-52 101, Cole DePuy 49-54 103, Nathan Hunter 56-53 109.

6. Gouverneur 531: Cade Stevens 43-53 96, Cole Newvine 49-52 101, Dan Sweet 54-51 105, Cody Bishop 57-55 112, Dylan Bates 58-59 117, Steve Fisher 62-64 126.

7. Potsdam 548: Aidon Clothier 48-45 93, Zach McDonald 56-47 103, Kenny Eurto 60-51 111, Dan French 60-60 120, Riley Clark 65-56 121, Bailey Fregoe 59-63 122.

8. Norwood-Norfolk 550: Brandon Palmer 48-48 96, Jacob Levison 55-48 103, Ty Cotter 54-54 108, Austin Ward 56-61 117, Issac Barkley 57-69 126, Beau Catimon 70-62 132.

9. Salmon River 563: Tommy Thomas 52-43 95, Austin Comins 51-56 107, Evan Swamp 57-56 113, Dennis Bero 62-61 123, Jacob Bero 68-57 125, Maurice Patenaude DQ.

10. Brushton-Moria 569: Devin Delisle 41-38 79, Matt Niles 49-52 101, Matt Delisle 56-48 104, Chris Strack 83-53 141, Connor Farmer 75-66 144, Nate Niles 69-75 144.

11. Canton 648: Danny Christy 47-48 95, Nate Aldous 67-61 128, Chase Writesel 73-64 137, Cooper Filiatrault 67-71 138, Cole Ladison 77-73 150, Ryan Aldous 82-79 161.

12. Clifton-Fine 683: Matt Peabody 58-62 120, Austin Milone 71-59 130, Eric Szlamzynski 68-66 134, Chad Kerr 69-70 139, Logan Lutz 80-80 160, Tim Levy 96-111 207.

Heuvelton (Inc): Jeff Arquitt 66-51 117, Will Tennant 54-67 121, Zed Crayford 78-68 146, Nick Fenton 89-78 163.

Edwards-Knox (Inc): Hunter Tuttle 48-50 98, Caleb Rowe 70-69 119, Ross Curley 69-62 131, Mason Fountain 78-80 158.

Section 10 Girls Championship: Jayden Young (N-N) 55-53 108, Megan Pickering (TL) 65-54 119, Mary Young (M-W) 60-64 124, Micaela McCarthy (B-M) 67-64 131, Catherine Curley (E-K) 68-71 139, Alyssa Allen (E-K) 63-76 139, Zana Northrup (C-F) 72-68 140, Kayla Adams (SR) 82-69 151.

Today’s tee times

8:50 a.m.: Dylan Tavernia, Matt Niles.

9 a.m.: Jacob Seguin, Jason Hammill, Ryan Petell.

9:10 a.m.: Liam LaMere, Matt Piercey, Cole Newvine.

9:20 a.m.: Tyler Clark, Mark Manchester, Alex Hammond.

9:30 a.m.: Hunter Tuttle, Alex Lewis, Adam Dumas.

9:40 a.m.: Jed McRoberts, Cade Stevens, Brandon Palmer.

9:50 a.m. Danny Christy, Tommy Thomas, David Sprague.

10 a.m.: Kendrick Swamp, Aiden Clothier, Josh Pickering.

10:10 a.m,: Hunter Francis, Tristen Moore, Kaden Pickering.

10:20 a.m.: Logan Lamb, Riley Amell, Dillon Binion.

10:30 a.m.: Devin Delisle, Connor Hannan, Jeff Mott.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter