Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Tue., Oct. 6
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

Moore, Caufield captured Blue Devil and Friends Tourney honors


You could call them the dynamic duo.

The Sultans of Swing ib stereo.

Well Bryan Moore and Matt Caufield do have one thing in common.

You can call the back to back champs.

The 22nd Annual Blue Devil and Friends Whiffleball-Golf reunion was held at Jim Booth Field at Caufield Stadium and Gilbert Greens Golf Course on Thursday. Nine teams took the links at 7 a.m. in a Captain and Crew Tournament followed by a two-person double-elimination whiffleball tournament which had 22 quality teams.

And like every finish since 1993 when a very young Jarett Langstaff and partner Chris Rufa won the initial tournament – a little controversy took the stage of a long championship duel.

But noone got hurt this season and everyone came out in one piece.

“It was just an outstanding day,” said Commissioner Scott A. Sargent. “We had some new faces return which made it a memorable day.”

In the eight team golf tournament, the team of Mike Farrell, Dave Kiah Jr., David Kiah Sr. and Jerry Mack took first place.

Whiffleball Tourney Champions Roll Call: 1993 - Jarett Langstaff (MVP) and Chris Rufa, 1994 - Tom Pinkerton (MVP) and Kevin Sherwin, 1995 - Mark Lemieux (MVP) and Jon Frederick, 1996 - Ken Sargent and Andy Testani (Co-MVP), 1997 - Scott Sargent (MVP) and Chris Rufa, 1998 Tom Pinkerton (MVP) and Tony Bennett, 1999 - Scott Sargent and Andrew Testani (Co-MVPs), 2000 - Andrew Testani (MVP) and Kevin Kline, 2001 - Doug Sholette and Matt Caufield (Co-MVPs), 2002 - Scott Sargent and Kevin O’Neil (Co-MVPs), 2003 - Jon Langstaff and Greg Rufa (Co-MVPs), 2004 - Scott Sargent and Matt Caufield (Co-MVP’s), 2005 - Bryan Moore and Jon Spooner (MVP), 2006 - Andrew Testani (MVP), 2007 - Eric Robinson (MVP) and Dustin Smithers, 2008 - Rick Reynolds and Bryan Moore (Co-MVPs), 2009 - Rick Reynolds (MVP) and Bryan Moore, 2010 - Colin Merna (MVP) and Eric Robinson, 2011 - Dylan Brown and Marshall Brown (Co-MVPs), 2012 Co-MVP’s Eric Robinson and Scott Sargent, 2013 - Co-MVP’s Bryan Moore and Matt Caufield, 2014 - Matt Caufield and Bryan Moore.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter