Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Thu., Sep. 3
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

McDonald, Wheeler, May, Zira score MIR victories


AKWESASNE - A great night of racing in all four divisions took place this past Friday at Mohawk International Raceway as Dig Safely of New York was on hand.

Both the fans and night sponsor were treated to some of the closest finishes of the 2014 season.

In the 358 Modifieds, Matt Woodruff showed his muscle in the early going by racing out to the early lead. Woodruff recently switched his efforts from asphalt to dirt in 2014 and did not look out of place as he held command of the field in the opening four laps. Brian McDonald has been winless at MIR for a long time and was able to get the lead away on lap 5 over Woodruff and Carey Terrance. With the race going caution free during most of the event Terrance’s car kept getting faster as he took 2nd from Woodruff and quickly closed in on the race leader as the top two closed in on lapped traffic. Behind the lead battle Chris Raabe was also on the move after starting deep in the field. At the halfway point he closed in on Matt Woodruff for third and would take the spot away with Ryan Arbuthnot completing the top five. Up front, Terrance put all kinds of pressure on McDonald for the lead but the man they call “Slim” was up to the task as he held onto the top spot despite racing through heavy lapped traffic. On lap 21, the first and only yellow came out for Zack Aubertine as he slowed with problems in turn 3. Under the same yellow Raabe broke the left side of his shock tower but would remain in the third spot for the next restart. When the green came out, McDonald got a great start as he pulled away from Terrance, but behind the top two Billy Dunn made a big move to go from sixth to third with Ryan Arbuthnot moving to fourth and Matt Woodruff rounding out the top five. Over the final three laps, Terrance tried inside and outside but could not pull off the pass as Brian McDonald ended his long winless streak at Mohawk with his first win of the year. Terrance took his sixth top five finish of the year with a 2nd place run. Billy Dunn, Ryan Arbuthnot and Matt Woodruff claimed his best finish on dirt coming home fifth.

The Sportsman division provided the closest and best finish of the night as former Mod Lite champion Bryan Green took control for the first three laps of the event over Brianna Ladouceur, Mike Stacey, Joel Hargrave and Greg Ezard. Green had one of the fastest cars on the speedway as Ladouceur tried to keep pace. On lap 6, the first yellow flew for Ezard who was clipped by Adam Rozon while running sixth. Ezard would slow with a left front flat tire but would return to action. On the restart, Green continued to lead over Ladouceur and Mike Stacey as the top three once again broke away from the rest of the field. Green would hold the lead for the next 4 laps until the yellow flew for Mike Maresca, Adam Rozon and Wyatt Mullin as they tangled off turn 4. All drivers were able to pull away. On the restart, Ladouceur took over the top spot over Green, Corey Wheeler, Dylan Evoy and Mike Stacey. Ladouceur started to drive away but both Evoy and Wheeler were on the move and were able to get past Green just past the halfway point but had almost a straight away to make up on leader Brianna Ladouceur. On lap 13, the yellow flew again as Adam Rozon’s tough night continued as he spun to the infield. When the green flew Ladouceur was able to fend off both Evoy and Wheeler and pull out to a comfortable lead but lapped traffic would soon come into play. With seven laps left, Wheeler made a strong move for the lead but Ladouceur used lapped traffic to her advantage and held Wheeler at bay while Dylan Evoy tried to keep pace in the third position, Bryan Green held onto fourth and Mike Stacey continued his solid run in fifth. With one lap to go, Wheeler drew alongside of Ladouceur in turns 1 and 2 and raced side by side into turn 3. As the top two approached lapped traffic Wheeler held a half car length lead. Ladouceur fought back coming to the checkered flag but would end up .091 seconds short of her first career win as Corey Wheeler notched his fifth win of the year and a flat left front tire, in a nail biter of a finish over Ladoucer, Dylan Evoy, Bryan Green and Mike Stacey.

The TUSA Mod Lite Series saw 20 cars take to the speedway and Jeff May had his way with the field at the start of the event with Dan Desnoyers, Jim Bogett, Harley Brown and Dan Reif completing the top five early on. May was the fastest car on the race track as he drove out to a commanding lead in the opening laps. Rookie Dan Desnoyers had an impressive showing as he raced hard all night with TUSA regular Jim Bogett for the second spot but Bogett was able to get the advantage at the halfway point. On lap 14, the only yellow flew for Alexandre Pepin, who spun on the front stretch. On the restart May drove out to a comfortable lead over Bogett while Dan Desnoyers had his hands full with veteran Paul Klager. After a great battle for third, Klager would get the spot but he could not catch Jeff May as he went on to score a dominant win in the TUSA Series event. Bogett held on for second over Paul Klager. Dan Desnoyers and Harley Brown had another impressive run coming home fifth at the checkered flag.

The Bandit division had a caution free 12-lap event and it was a side by side battle between Matt Zira and the winner of the last tw0 races, Randy Whiting. Zira held off numerous challenges though the entire feature while behind them Brockville Speedway regular Corbin Millar was on the charge as he rounded out the top three. On the final lap Whiting looked to have an edge but Zira rallied back on the bottom in turn 1. As the top two headed down the back stretch Whiting gave it all he had on the high side but could not get the run he wanted as Zira grabbed his fourth win of the year over Whiting. Miller’s first run at Mohawk in 2014 resulted in a third place finish while Scott Banker and Corey Castell rounded out the top five.

No racing action is scheduled for this Friday night but will resume on August 15 with the Mohawk Racing Parts 40-lap Pro Stock Series race along with as full show in all classes and a kids tire race. The green flag drops at 7:30 p.m.

For more information, visit the track website at or call the MIR office at (518) 358-9017.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter