Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Mon., Sep. 15
Serving the communities of Massena and Potsdam, New York
Related Stories

Candidates file independent petitions

print this article
e-mail this article

CANTON — A handful of candidates, including Massena Mayor James F. Hidy and Gouverneur Trustee Charles W. Newvine, filed independent nominating petitions by Tuesday’s deadline with the St. Lawrence County Board of Elections.

Independent petitions were also filed by county legislators Vernon D. “Sam” Burns, D-Ogdensburg; Donald A. Peck, D-Gouverneur, and Frederick S. Morrill, D-DeKalb Junction. Democrats Michele W. McQueer, Hammond, who is running in District 4 and Rick Perkins, Parishville, who is running in District 7 also filed petitions.

Filing the independent petitions can ensure that a candidate has at least one spot on the ballot or is on more than one line in the general election in November.

Mr. Newvine, for example, failed to win nomination by his fellow Republicans at a caucus in July but will appear on the ballot in any case as an independent. Mr. Newvine could also seek endorsement by Democrats, who are having their caucus Saturday.

Others who filed independent nominating petitions were:

Brasher: Wilfred J. Recore, unexpired term, council.

Clare: Donald J. Ward III, unexpired term, council.

Colton: Dale Paul Robar, justice.

Hermon: Brian E. Brunet, Clarence E. “Butch” Cleveland, Robert R. Reed, unexpired term, superintendent of highways. Karen A. Wayering, unexpired term, town clerk.

Stockholm: Heather Kish, town clerk.

Waddington: Shirley L. Robinson, unexpired term, council.

Village of Canton: Dwight Stevenson, trustee.

Village of Gouverneur: R. Nelson Lawrence and Mr. Newvine, for two trustee seats.

Village of Massena: Mr. Hidy, mayor.

Connect with Us
DCO on FacebookWDT on Twitter